Share |

Governor Beebe Declares 15 Counties Disaster Areas After Wednesday Storms

LITTLE ROCK - Governor Mike Beebe today declared Cleburne, Conway, Garland, Hot Spring, Independence, Izard, Lincoln, Montgomery, Polk, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White, and Yell Counties state disaster areas due to damage caused by tornadoes and severe storms Wednesday afternoon and evening.

In addition, Governor Beebe has released $10,000 from the Governor’s Disaster Fund to help cover the immediate response costs from these storms.

The declaration makes it easier for local governments to coordinate with the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and other state agencies during response and repair efforts. Local governments will be able to better utilize Arkansas Department of Correction work crews to assist with debris removal.

Damage assessments continue, and additional counties may be added to this declaration.