News & Media

Press Releases

« Go Back
For Immediate Release 05.11.2015

Governor Asa Hutchinson Declares Disaster Area; Assesses Damage in SW Arkansas

LITTLE ROCK – Governor Asa Hutchinson today issued a proclamation declaring Franklin, Garland, Howard, Izard, Johnson, Montgomery, Newton, Pike, Pope and Searcy counties a disaster area. Severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that began May 8 killed two Arkansans and damaged private property and public facilities in these counties. The governor issued the proclamation upon touring the affected areas Monday afternoon.

Governor Hutchinson issued the following statement:

“It’s always difficult to see the damage inflicted by deadly storms and tornadoes. Our hearts and prayers go out to those in the Nashville area who were affected by the recent weather, especially the family of those who died from Sunday’s tornado. 

“As Arkansans, we all hold our breath when we hear about severe weather. Sadly, we’ve been through this before, and we know how devastating these storms can be. But Arkansans help out each other. We always have. We always will. And I know the compassion of Arkansans will reach those in these difficult circumstances.” 

©2021 State of Arkansas. All Rights Reserved.