News & Media

Press Releases

« Go Back
For Immediate Release 07.08.2019

Governor Hutchinson Announces Appointments to the Arkansas Levee Task Force

Task force to include 25 members from state, local, and legislature

LITTLE ROCK – In June, as a result of catastrophic flooding along a number of rivers in Arkansas in the last few years, Governor Asa Hutchinson issued Executive Order 19-10 to create the Arkansas Levee Task Force to study and analyze the current conditions of the state’s levees. During June’s historic flooding, several levees were impacted including a breach to the Holla Bend Levee in Yell County.

The first meeting of the Arkansas Levee Task Force will take place at 1:30 p.m. on Friday, July 12, 2019. The location of the meeting will be announced later this week.

Today, Governor Hutchinson announced the full list of appointments to the task force. They are as follows:

  • Jami Cook - Chair
    Secretary, Department of Public Safety
  • Tommy Land
    Arkansas Land Commissioner
  • Wes Ward
    Secretary, Department of Agriculture
  • Larry Walther
    Secretary, Department of Finance and Administration
  • Bruce Holland
    Director, Arkansas Natural Resources Commission
  • A.J. Gary
    Director, Arkansas Department of Emergency Management
  • Deidre Smith
    Director, Arkansas Waterways Commission
  • Shelby Johnson
    Director, Geographic Information Office
  • Senator Jason Rapert
    Senate Appointment
  • Senator Gary Stubblefield
    Senate Appointment
  • Representative Mary Bentley
    House Appointment
  • Representative David Hillman
    House Appointment
  • County Judge Mark Thone
    Yell County
  • County Judge Jeff Phillips
    Jackson County
  • County Judge Mack Ball
    Chicot County
  • County Clerk Pam Ennis
    Pope County
  • Mayor Jimmy Witt
    Dardanelle – Yell County
  • Mayor Shirley Washington
    Pine Bluff – Jefferson County
  • Rob Rash
    St. Francis Levee Board
  • Mike Lowe
    Representing Miller County
  • Tim Ralston
    Representing Pope and Conway Counties
  • Marty Shell
    Representing Sebastian and Crawford Counties
  • Evan Teague
    Engineer, Farm Bureau
  • Tommy Bond
    Engineer, Pulaski County
  • Hal Kemp
    Attorney, Pulaski County

Members of the Task Force will also identify sources and requirements for funding the construction, repair, and maintenance of the levees; study prospective monitoring and reporting systems for maintenance of the levees; and review adequacy of current laws and organizational structure of the levee system and levee district boards.

The Task Force shall provide a report of its findings and make recommendations to the Governor for improved monitoring and maintenance of the state’s levee system by December 31, 2019.  The Task Force may provide additional reports and recommendations to the Governor as necessary.

CONTACT: Press Shop ( or 501.682.3642)

©2022 State of Arkansas. All Rights Reserved.