News & Media

Press Releases

« Go Back
For Immediate Release 03.12.2018

Governor Hutchinson Announces Final Appointments to School Safety Commission

New commission to meet for the first time on Tuesday

LITTLE ROCK – Governor Asa Hutchinson today announced his final appointments to the Arkansas School Safety Commission, which will hold its first meeting on Tuesday.

Governor Hutchinson issued an executive order creating the commission on March 1, 2018, and tasked the commission with assessing the security of Arkansas’s schools and making recommendations accordingly. The Governor also committed $300,000 to the Criminal Justice Institute (CJI) for additional training for school resource officers and security assessments for schools.

“It is a top priority for me, as Governor, to ensure that our schools are a safe environment for our students to learn and for our teachers to teach,” Governor Hutchinson said. “I’ve appointed first-rate members of this commission who will travel to schools all across the state to listen and to assess what all is being done to secure our schools—as well as what more needs to be done. I am grateful for their willingness to serve our state.”

The School Safety Commission will meet for the first time on Tuesday, March 13, 2018, at 10 a.m. The task force’s initial report is due to the Governor on July 1, 2018.

Members of the commission are as follows:

Dr. Cheryl May – Chair
Director, Criminal Justice Institute (CJI)
University of Arkansas System

Bill Temple – Vice Chair
Retired Special Agent, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

John “Don” Kaminar
Special Projects and School Safety Manager
Arkansas Department of Education (ADE)

Brad Montgomery
Director of Public School Academic Facilities
Arkansas Department of Education (ADE)

A.J. Gary
Director, Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM)

Sheriff Tim Helder
Washington County Sheriff

Jami Cook
Director, Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy (ALETA)

Will Jones
Deputy Attorney General, Special Investigations Unit
Office of the Attorney General

Dr .David Hopkins
Superintendent, Clarksville School District

Dawn Anderson
High School Counselor, Hot Springs High School

John Allison
Teacher, Vilonia High School

*Tom Jenkins
Chief of the Rogers Fire Department

*Marvin L. Burton
Deputy Superintendent for the Little Rock School District

*Lori Poston
Child and Adolescent Therapist from Jonesboro

*Dr. Margaret Weiss 
MD, PHD, UAMS Professor Department of Psychiatry, and the Director of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

*Ricky Hopkins
Parent of student in Prescott School District

*Dr. Sterling Claypoole
Professor in Psychology at South Arkansas Community College and Parent of students in El Dorado School District

*Dr. Joyce Cottoms
Superintendent for the Marvell-Elaine School District

* – denotes newest appointees

More information about the Arkansas School Safety Commission can be found HERE, and additional details about Tuesday’s School Safety Commission Meeting can be found HERE.

CONTACT: Press Shop ( or 501.682.3642)

©2022 State of Arkansas. All Rights Reserved.