Press Release

Asa Arkansas's Governor


Gov. Hutchinson Addresses Cybersecurity in Detroit, MI; Honored By Border Patrol in Washington, D.C.

LITTLE ROCK – On Monday, at the invitation of Michigan Governor Rick Snyder, Governor Asa Hutchinson, the former – and first – Undersecretary of Homeland Security, took part in an international cybersecurity summit in Detroit where he addressed the very real risks cybersecurity poses to the country’s national security.

“I want to thank Governor Snyder for the opportunity to discuss this vital issue,” said Hutchinson after the event. “With each passing year and technological innovation, it becomes clearer that there will be even more threats to this nation’s cybersecurity — both in the public and private sectors — unless we address ways to make our business, public and private accounts safer.” 

More information on the North American International Cyber Summit can be found HERE.

On Wednesday, the Border Patrol Foundation (BPF) awarded Governor Hutchinson with the Founders Medal at a special event in Washington, D.C. The award recognizes Governor Hutchinson’s significant leadership and commitment to the U.S. Border Patrol while serving as Undersecretary for Border and Transportation Security (BTS) at the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) from 2003 – 2005. BTS was the largest division of the DHS, with more than 110,000 employees.

“This is a great honor, and it’s especially meaningful to me because I was privileged to help protect this great country after the 9/11 attacks,” said Hutchinson. “I want to recognize my incredible colleagues who were with me in the early days at Homeland Security. Those were trying times when we were working to create a new federal agency under stressful and dangerous circumstances. It speaks to the character and ability of many dedicated Americans that we got it done.”

About the Founders Medal:

The Founders Medal was created in 2010 to recognize a deserving individual every year for his or her contributions to the men and women of the U.S. Border Patrol and "lifetime achievements" in the realm of protecting America at and beyond its borders. Other recipients have included Secretary Tom Ridge, USCBP Commissioner Ralph Basham, and Secretary Michael Chertoff.

More information on the Border Patrol Foundation can be found, HERE


CONTACT: Press Shop ( or 501.682.3612)