Press Release

Asa Arkansas's Governor


Governor Asa Hutchinson Named 2017 Chairman of the IOGCC

LITTLE ROCK – Today, Governor Asa Hutchinson was named 2017 Chair of the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC). He was joined by the 2016 Chair of the IOGCC, Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin.

Governor Hutchinson issued the following statement:

“I am pleased to serve as Chairman of the longest running interstate compact – the IOGCC. Energy is one of our most valuable resources. In Arkansas, we are fortunate to produce more energy than we consume, primarily because of our abundant natural gas resources. In just the past decade, we have experienced a six-fold increase as one of the country’s top ten natural gas producers, and it is vital that our nation continues building diversity in its supply of energy resources for the benefit and security of our citizens.

“I want to thank Governor Fallin for her leadership and for laying a firm foundation as we move into 2017. I look forward to furthering the IOGCC mission and working to promoting efficient, responsible and fair regulation of our nation’s valuable energy resources.”

Governor Hutchinson also chairs the Southern States Energy Board (SSEB) and the National Governors Association (NGA) Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee, in addition to his role as IOGCC chairman.

CONTACT: Press Shop ( or 501.682.3612)