Press Release

Asa Arkansas's Governor


President Declares Arkansas Counties Disaster Areas

LITTLE ROCK – President Obama has approved Governor Hutchinson’s request for a major disaster for the State of Arkansas as a result of severe weather and flooding from late December 2015 through January 2016. The declaration will allow residents and governmental bodies in the affected areas, who meet certain criteria, to apply for assistance.

Public Assistance (PA) for emergency work and repair/replacement of disaster-damaged facilities will be available for all 32 counties requested by the state including: Benton, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Clay, Crawford, Dallas, Drew, Franklin, Greene, Independence, Izard, Lawrence, Little River, Logan, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Montgomery, Ouachita, Perry, Pike, Polk, Randolph, Scott, Searcy, Stone, Washington, White, Woodruff, and Yell Counties.

Individual Assistance (IA) for individuals and households will be available for residents of 11 of the 19 counties requested by the state including: Benton, Carroll, Crawford, Faulkner, Jackson, Jefferson, Lee, Little River, Perry, Sebastian, and Sevier. Additional designations may be added to the declaration if requested by the state and warranted by results of further damage assessments.

Through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, funds will be available for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards for all areas of the state.

Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and Federal Emergency Management Agency officials will soon announce plans to open offices throughout the affected areas to accept assistance applications.

ADEM Release

CONTACT: Whitney Green  ( or 501.683.6700)