Share |

Governor Beebe Declares Six Counties Disaster Areas After Recent Storms

LITTLE ROCK - Governor Mike Beebe today declared Cross, Montgomery, Poinsett, Polk, Scott and Van Buren Counties state disaster areas due to damage caused by tornadoes, strong storms and flooding.

Assessments from these storms continue, and more counties are expected to be added. Judges in all six of these counties have already made their own disaster declarations as well.

Assessing flood damages can take longer in areas where water is slower to recede. There is also the potential for additional severe weather on Saturday.

Earlier today, Governor Beebe authorized the use of an Arkansas National Guard helicopter to assist in search-and-rescue operations in West Arkansas.