News & Media

Press Releases

« Go Back
For Immediate Release 07.05.2018

Governor Hutchinson Names Moore, McFetridge to the Arkansas State Board of Education

LITTLE ROCK – Governor Asa Hutchinson today named Dr. Sarah Moore and Kathy McFetridge to the Arkansas State Board of Education.

Dr. Sarah Moore of Stuttgart replaces Joseph Black. Her appointment will expire on June 30, 2025.

Kathy McFetridge of Springdale replaces Mireya Lesley Reith. Her appointment will expire on June 30, 2025.

“With Mrs. McFetridge’s decades of experience on the Springdale School Board and Dr. Moore’s extensive knowledge of education policy and elementary teaching experience, I am confident that these two new members of the State Board of Education will provide a well-rounded perspective to the board that oversees one of our most critical responsibilities— the education of our children,” Governor Hutchinson said. “Arkansas has a wealth of education leaders, and I believe that Mrs. McFetridge and Dr. Moore are two of the best. I am pleased that Kathy and Sarah have agreed to step up to help lead Arkansas education.”

Dr. Moore is a distinguished education professional with both hands-on teaching experience and extensive knowledge of policy. She earned a doctorate in education policy from the University of Arkansas, where she previously worked as a Doctoral Academy Fellow. Dr. Moore also taught elementary education in the Stuttgart School District for many years before working with the Office for Education Policy at the University of Arkansas and serving as an education policy advisor in the Governor’s Office. Dr. Moore lives in Stuttgart with her husband, James, and their two children.

Mrs. McFetridge has been a highly respected member of the Springdale School Board for 27 years. Both national and statewide education groups have recognized Mrs. McFetridge’s advocacy for quality education. The Arkansas School Boards Association granted Mrs. McFetridge the Pinnacle Award and the Dr. Dan Pilkinton Award, and the National School Boards Association honored Mrs. McFetridge with the Distinguished Service Award. Mrs. McFetridge also served as an Honor Board Member for the Arkansas School Boards Association for many years and served as president of the Association from 2006-2007. Known as one of the most distinguished leaders in her community, Mrs. McFetridge has been the co-owner of Ozark Film and Video Productions for 34 years and received the Civic Service Award from the Springdale Chamber of Commerce in 2015 for her outstanding service to the Springdale community.

CONTACT: Press Shop ( or 501.682.3642)

©2022 State of Arkansas. All Rights Reserved.